Academy Dashboard Forum Studio DAWs Reaper Warren's Vocal Thickening Trick

• This topic has 8 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 7 years ago by Mark Warner.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Fernando Franco
    Participant

Hey guys wanted to share a Reaper tutorial for replicating Warren's vocal thickening trick. I'm new at this Vlog/Tutorial stuff I hope I was clear enough and it helps you out.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hsf7F87zI1U

Mark Warner
      Participant

Nice one Tachi. I have been doing this in Reaper for a few months now with great effect but I don't have time to make videos. I sometimes find it can be a little phasey so I also use TC Helicon's vocal thichener as well. Between the two it gets the job done. Thanks for making a Reaper video. More people need to know about the dark side 😉

Mark Warner
        Participant

Additional - Tachi a couple of points.
          1. The section you where describe and play the effect it is only coming out of the left channel so someone watching the video cannot hear the effect?

2. Your description is missing the delay element which is a key part of Warren's process.

The way I do it follows Warren's method so my settings are like this

1 create 8 Tracks labelled like this L 10ms -3, R24ms +3, L 24ms +6, R 10ms -6.....
          2 On each track I add both ReaDelay and ReaPitch plugins (delay first in the chain)
          3 I add upto 8 sends on the vocal track panning each one alternately Left and Right to each of the thickening tracks
          4 In each of the 8 tracks I do one of the following
          LHS
          10ms delay -3 cents Pitch
          24ms Dleay +6 cents Pitch
          10ms Dleay -9 cents Pitch
          24ms Delay +12 cents Pitch
          RHS
          24ms delay +3 cents Pitch
          10ms delay -6 cents Pitch
          24ms delay +9 cents pitch
          10ms delay -12 cents Pitch