Academy Dashboard Forum Studio Studio Building / Acoustics Thinking about switching from Apple to Windows

Tagged: 

• This topic has 10 replies, 9 voices, and was last updated 5 years ago by Samuel Botstein.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    simonbest
    Participant

Hey guys, not trying to make a "Mac Vs. Windows" thread here, but here's the thing. I've been using Pro Tools with Mac for a couple years since it was a pain to use in Windows. The experience with Mac hasn't been as pleasing as I'd like to. Not only it's expensive, but I also think the OS has been surpassed by Windows in some areas.

Anyway, I'm going to use S1 as main DAW, so I considered to go back to windows. I wanted to ask S1 owners who work in Windows how's been their experience so far, and whether they'd recommend that setup. My main problem was the whole ASIO4windows + Pro Tools messing around whenever I had to work outside the studio with my laptop and couldn't use an interface.

Thanks in advance for your opinions.

Mark Warner
      Participant

Hi Simon,
        I am a Windows user and although I have Studio One, I do not use it. Not because it is not good but I just got used to Reaper, so I can only give you a partial insight. I have used Windows 7 for about 4 years and then went to Windows 10 a few months back. I use a Presonus 1818vsl and while under some situations, usually when shutting down the laptop, I would get. USB error and blue screen, I never had a problem using it. Now I am on Windows 10 that issue is resolved and I have had no other issues. All my drivers and VSTs work fine (64 bit). Most people who have told me about their experiences of Studio One say it is very good. I hop this is useful to you. Cheers Mark

simonbest
        Participant

Definitely helps, I'm actually considering Reaper too after watching some tutorials and because of all the praise Cockos gets.

Steve A
          Participant