Academy Dashboard Forum Collaboration - Competition Competitions (Mixing, Songwriting, etc.) Remix 'Spell' (Indie Electronica) - Deadline April 25th

• This topic has 14 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by thedove.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Tobi
    Keymaster

Remix competition that caught my eye. Never remixed anything before, so I thought it'd be an interesting learning experience.

Hollywood Principle Spell Remix Competition

Feel free to post mixes for feedback. Discussions, Questions, Etc...

Anders Isberg
      Participant

I've started a remix of this song. I've never done a proper remix in this genre before so definitely a great opportunity for learning.

Andrew Mckenzie
        Participant

I'll give this a try as well if I can find some time to finish the other ones on the go 🙂

Tobi
          Keymaster

Just started mix prep on Warren's new track - very funky - but I want to get this one going as well. No idea where to go with it - lol - but I'm game for a challenge 🙂

Anders Isberg
            Participant

Here is my basic layout of the arrangement. This is not a mix. I haven't done anything to the individual tracks and there's nothing on the mix bus. I'm going to add a few more sounds throughout. I'm also planning on making the end section longer and make it even more of a crescendo.

https://soundcloud.com/timelike_productions/spell-arrangement-ideas/s-UcVKo

Steve A
              Participant

Anders' first out of the gate as usual, haha, sounds good already! Interested to hear how your plans for it materialize.
                Yeah, I don't even know where to begin with this genre... I wonder what a good reference track would be, anyone have an idea?

Tobi
                Keymaster

Nice. Like the heavy pianos at around 16 secs in - very cool. Vocal effect works well too.

Good foundation on which to build.

Anders Isberg
                  Participant