Academy Dashboard Forum Production Digital Recording Plugin bundles. Worth it?

• This topic has 10 replies, 7 voices, and was last updated 6 years ago by rhcpbrs.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Brice_Woolard
    Participant

I'm just getting into using free plugins, but have gotten some mixed results with them. At what point do you start buying plugins, and are the bundles of them worth it? The first bundle I stumbled across is the Waves Gold Bundle.

Arthur Labus

It depends 🙂

What DAW / computer / OS you are using ?
        How excessive you are mixing ?
        How much are able to pay ?
        Do you get any money for your work ?

In fact, you need two handfull of plugins all the time. Better you know them very good 😉

I am personally using mostly stock and free plugins (Windows 10 / Reaper) and have just few cheap / LE versions and some giveaways.

Tim Morris
        Participant

Waves have continuous sales...keep an eye on costs and look out for deals, I find with bundles you only end up using a few. As Arthur says, better to get a few decent key plugs and get to know them well.

Brice_Woolard
          Participant

I'm using Logic Pro x, Mac and whatever the latest OS. I'm getting to mix about an hour a day, but hopefully can up that after my house is done being built. I'm not opposed to spending a little coin for a good product. I'm mixing my bands tracks right now, and I want to make them sound as best I can. I'll watch for the deals/sales. Being very new to mixing, I haven't found where the stock plugins are a shortcoming versus me having tools, paid plugins, that I don't know how to use anyway. Thus my interest to dive into the plugin world. Thanks for the input.

• This reply was modified 7 years ago by Brice_Woolard.
            Arthur Labus

I am sure Logic plugins are very good.