Academy Dashboard Forum Studio Show off your studio Nathan Walker _ Studio Submission

• This topic has 0 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 4 years ago by Nathan Walker.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Nathan Walker
    Participant

• Name - Nathan Walker
      • Studio Name - GrassTree Recording
      • Photos of your Studio - https://www.dropbox.com/sh/reidjk61qixdh8e/AAA3FtXPNd5GEg3kS7hwxZXwa?dl=0
      • Where your studio is based - Townsville, North Queensland, Australia
      • Your Bio (Doesn't have to be long) I'm an Archaeologist by trade (working in Cultural Heritage). I have been recording since my teens and have recorded with a bunch of artists over the years - mostly friends and their bands. I'm a guitarist and singer/songwriter (That part about being a singer is debatable), I got into recording myself after a less than stellar recording experience with my band in the early 2000's - firstly with a Tascam Portastudio Mk3 four track (which I still have) then moving on to PC based recording.

I lived out in a remote bush location for 5 years up until 2016 and while I was out there I was the roadie and live sound guy for the local band/ PA company which gave me a lot of experience in dealing with live sound and unusual live sound situation (try running a gig in a corrugated Iron Sheep pavilion used for the local town show for example). I'm at the early stages of trying to take on recording in a more serious way (hopefully taking on paying clients at some point) now that I have a permanent site and have set myself up better. I'm still at the early stages as I have only been in my current town for a short time and am still making connections in the local scene.
      • DAW of choice - Cubase Pro 10
      • Genres you primarily work with - Mostly been punk/rock/grunge, solo artists and folky type alternative
      • Favorite Plugins - Eventide SP2016 Reverb, Waves Abbey Road Tape machine and Waves Abbey Road Chambers