Academy Dashboard Forum Production Music Business Getting Your First Gig/Developing Your Client Base

• This topic has 1 reply, 2 voices, and was last updated 2 years ago by Paul Motion.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Ryan Bloes
    Participant

Hi everyone!

I am a new audio engineer just starting out. I've completed internships with good recommendations in both well known recording studios and post production houses in NYC. I've worked on a few paid projects, and was an assistant engineer on a few records.

That said I find myself at a crossroads moving forward...there is a glut of talented engineers at my recording studio, so much so that the paid work isn't terribly consistent. I'm taking a parallel approach by going to shows here in NYC and trying to build a client base to get into the studio but I'm finding it fairly hard to land gigs. Especially in NYC there are many established engineers and it can be difficult as a new guy to land one.

I recently took a few teaching gigs, teaching music technology and DAW's, to keep a roof over my head. I'm 31 and have more obligations than your average 22 year old, and I don't have the parental resources flowing in to help float my rent, or give me an exceeding amount of free time during my day, so every second counts!

What I'm curious to everyone's thoughts on are this:

1) How did you land your first gigs? And how did you develop a client base early on? Any networking tips in approaching bands/filmmakers about doing audio for them? What shows/events did you go to to start out? (I'm going to smaller shows in Queens to build my base but welcome all ideas/stories!)

2) Did anyone who was at this phase in their career intern at one studio and then got hired as a paid assistant engineer at another studio? How did that happen and how did you approach finding those gigs? What did you find about your approach and your audio background that helped you successfully land that gig?