Academy Dashboard Forum Production Mixing Gain Staging question

Tagged: 

• This topic has 4 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 3 years ago by Dominique Lacroix.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Dominique Lacroix
    Participant

Hi there, I am new to the Academy and this will be my first experience with it. I don't have a ton of experience as a mixer but I am meticulous and am so far mainly recording and mixing my own and band's projects. I am trying to be mindful of good gain staging and starting a few new projects. I have recorded all tracks at around 18db of gain RMS. (peaks below 6db)

My question is the following: once I add-up all 3 kick or snare mics and the added samples, the Kick/Snare buss are now beyond -6db. Which in turns, pushes the Drum buss pretty hot too. Is the answer to trim down the gain on each buss to never let it peak beyond -6db pre-fader? And if I add parallel compression later on, then I'll have to trim it down again? Same with every busses?

Or did I record too hot?

I'm a little confused with this. Any help will be appreciated!

Thanks!!!

Dominic

Guido tum Suden
      Keymaster

Hi Dominic,
        Since you are probably recording and mixing with 24 bit, clipping is no longer a problem (okay, you can still do it, but the meters would have been in the red for a long time before digital distortion starts).
        That being said, I gain stage similar to you. All plugins that produce harmonic distortion react differently to different input levels and with the level you choose you can't go wrong.

What can you do about the busses? Since the system is running on 24 bits, a lot.
        - Turn down all faders to -4 dB and start mixing from there.
        - Put in a gain plugin at the beginning of the bus.
        - Use the plugin chain on the bus to reduce the gain.
        - Turn down the single channels with a gain plugin at the end.
        - Just turn down the fader of the bus.
        - …