Academy Dashboard Forum Academy Academy Lesson Suggestions Feedback Friday for Beginners

• This topic has 2 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by Rich Zei.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Christopher Feeney
    Participant

I love the Feedback Fridays. But I am a beginner. But I've done enough so far to realize a few essentials.
      The song has to be good. The arrangement must serve the song. You need to track the audio well.

Then... mixing is more about a lot of small tweaks than big ones.

The current Feedback Friday is overwhelming for me because there are so many tracks and so many advanced techniques. So what would a beginners be? I don't know. A simple song that has drums, two guitars, bass, piano, and simple vocals but limit the applications? Just EQ, Delay, Reverb, etc. I don't know really. I'm stuck between raw beginner and advanced intermediate. Not sure how to get to next level. I am getting better, but I feel I'm not quite focused in the sweet spot where I need to learn.

As I type, what would be cool is like test that help practice basics? "This week we have a drum track and I want you to get the snare to snap and kick to boom." "This week we have drums and bass and want you to use EQ and compression to sit the bass in the mix."

I'm not sure I am making sense.

Stephen Korst
      Participant

Christopher,

These are my thoughts exactly. I've just gotten "average" in my mixing abilities, after about a year and a half of lots of trial and error. I've gotten to the point of having the multi-track files downloaded, imported, organized, gain staged, then...boom...it's time for another Feedback Friday of a new song. Seems there are some PLAP Academy members who are really, really efficient at this stuff, turning out a mix or sometimes mixes of the song of the month, before I've had time to even start on one.