Academy Dashboard Forum Production Mixing Did a control surface change your experience?

• This topic has 7 replies, 8 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by Jared Sherman.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    David Case
    Participant

Hey all, I've been a total mouse & keyboard guy since I started learning how to do all of this wonderful stuff but I'm wondering if using a control surface will open up the way I work and make it a more productive, creative and flexible process? I'm thinking about the Avid Artist Mix - any other things I should investigate? I don't think I want to go as high as the S3 right now, but I'm open to other suggestions. I use Pro Tools 12.x 95% of the time, but Logic Pro X at times...

I'm going to try out the iPad app, but I think I already want a physical interface...

Thanks, all!

Cigar200
      Participant

I was using the mouse, keyboard stuff as well but then I bought a Raven MTI 2,that truly changed the whole game. im not thinking about a computer anymore and focus on the music, not to mention work time increased because of using the Raven.

Andrew Mckenzie
        Participant

When I'm trying to get more control on panning or fader levels, sometimes I'll assign a rotary or slider control from my midi keyboard and find it easier that way....especially smooth fast panning from left to right etc. Using a mouse is not a deal breaker but it works for me on occasion to record automation with a physical control. 🙂

Cheers...Andrew

Guido tum Suden
          Keymaster

I've got Logic Control but have to admit I that I seldom use the faders.
            I do use the transport buttons all the time and also the scrub wheel for going back and forth in the song.
            I have the arrow buttons setting on zoom and use those buttons for zooming.

I am thinking about the Raven for some time now. Especially after I had to move my two monitors nearer to see anything 😉