Academy Dashboard Forum Production Mixing Approaches to panning a stereo image changed over time?

• This topic has 5 replies, 4 voices, and was last updated 10 months ago by David Cook.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Jeff Werner
    Participant

Hello! This is maybe a history question? Sorry if it’s common knowledge, I’m new to all this!

There are lots of techniques and general rules suggested on youtube etc for panning tracks to get an aesthetically pleasing stereo image, including things like keeping the bass and kick in or near the middle, putting a dozen mics all over the drums (not in my scope or budget!) and panning it all to give the stereo image of the actual set, duplicating a guitar part and panning each hard to either side, keep the lead vocal in the middle, etc. But, how long have these expectations been standardized and how important are they really to meeting the listener in the right place?