Academy Dashboard Forum Production Recording Techniques Acoustic Guitars, string gauge and pick selection

• This topic has 4 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by Jeff Macdonald.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Jeff Macdonald

I am not sure if this belongs here or in the Gear section, so please move it if I have it in the wrong forum.

I will start with prefacing this with I am a drummer and not a guitarist in the least. I can play a few chords but that's the extent of my ability. I am hoping some the guitar players here could give me some input on what string gauges/brands and pick thickness are their go-to for different types of sounds (e.g., rock rhythm, country, finger picked, lead, etc.). Overall, I am hoping to get a list of 'starting points' so I can start experimenting and learning from experience from there.

Thanks!

Jeff

Cris Sabater Sabater
      Participant

Hi jbmacdo3, to be honest it really boils down to what is most comfortable for you. If you play Metal drop C then you will need anything from 11's to 13's just because lighter strings won't cut it but any other Genre it really is up to you. For example Billy Gibbons is famous for his tone and most people would expect him to be playing a heavy gauge. He actually plays 8's!! The tone is in his fingers. Picks again is a very personal experience and I prefer heavy 1.5mm picks but I know some guitar players who like some give from their pick. Ernie Ball 2223 Nickel Wound Electric Guitar Strings 09-42 Super Slinky are the strings I prefer but again I suggest buy a few different brands and see what suits you.

Cheers mate,

Cris

Jeff Macdonald

Hi Cris,

Thanks for the response! I guess I have some experimenting to do!

Cheers,

Jeff

eX Cess
          Participant

I'll agree on this one, there's a huge myth about picks and string gauge and even experienced guitar players I know still think the heavier strings and picks are, the bigger the sound^^