Academy Dashboard Forum Studio Gear Talk Starting from scratch (Help)

• This topic has 6 replies, 4 voices, and was last updated 6 years ago by Anonymous.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    jeff kosta
    Participant

Hi everyone, I am a new member as of today. I have played drums most of my life but I have no experience setting up my first home studio.
      I have finished out a outside cottage for my studio and putting up
      Acoustic treatments to get a good room sound. But I have no recording gear except my MacBook Pro,2-sm 57s from my gigging bag and a Rode
      NTI. I want to track Drums and guitar and bass. This is my equipment list that I researched but I’m not sure if it’s the way to go. Any advice would be so appreciated. Focusrite 8x interface, overheads
      I am totally confused what’s right I was thinking AKG213 pair, and the AKG CLIP ON TOM MICS, D112 kick, 57 snare, 57HH. As far as DAW Logic Pro X or Pro Tools? See I don’t even have a DAW yet.
      Thanks!!

Guido tum Suden
      Keymaster

Hi Jeff,
        welcome.
        I fear you have to be a bit more specific. Some questions:
        I guess you are planning to have a home studio? (Budget related questions 😉
        Are you going to make professional recordings for other artists?
        Just recording drums, bass and guitar?
        Any songwriting?

You can find a lot of videos on how to record drums with a different number of mics.
        As soon as you need more than 8 mics, you will probably need a second interface.

I've got a Focurite. You can't go wrong there. You'll want an interface with 8 analog inputs. Which one depends on your budget. Of course other companies make excellent interfaces as well.
        Your interface should have an ADAT in- and output so you can link it with another one in the future.
        Recent interfaces sometimes use ethernet for that (like MOTU) but I think the standard is not yet set.