Academy Dashboard Forum Production Mixing PLAP User Mixing Techniques ( AKA Things I do often)

• This topic has 5 replies, 6 voices, and was last updated 5 years ago by face (chris) Janton.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Magnus Emilsson
    Participant

I am not an expert, but I thought it might be good to share those things that one has developed as part of the workflow. This are the things that work for me, they might not be for anyone else. I work in Ableton, but most tips should work in any DAW.

Master Bus
      Mono Checking
      I always have a "Utility" plugin on my master bus with a mono button on. So even if I'm not going through my X-Desks monitor section, I can still sum to mono to be able to check phase and other issues.

Metering
      I use Voxengo SPAN for metering at the end of my chain, typically set to K-14 metering. This, for me, helps to inform my decisions about level. So that I don't over cook things or have too much transients in my mix. I typically aim for an average of 0 db (K14). I never fix discovered issues on the master bus, I fix it in the mix by finding what is causing the problematic transients.
      I might use K-20 for something very "live" or more classical/jazz stuff that really needs a lot of headroom. If I'm hitting 0 db average on the K-14 scale, it won't be a problem to get it radio loud in mastering. I also make sure that I use a lot of the available bits.

Channels
      Utility
      I always have a utility plugin with gain and mono functions on as the last plugin on all tracks. It is disabled until I need it.
      I use it for adjusting overall volume after I have done automation (as long as it isn't the automation that needs to change, then change that).