Academy Dashboard Forum Production Mastering Do professional mastering engineers let their tracks clip? Reply To: Do professional mastering engineers let their tracks clip?

Robert Hundt
Participant

Hey Kain

I feel like your actual question has not been answered. I hope I have't just skipped it while flying through the answers.
    I work as a mastering engineer since 2009 (Berlin/Germany, so I hope i'm gonna make sense) and I would like to give you some insight into digital audio and I want to try shine some light on your question.

So you are asking whether or not mastering engineers would let their masters exceed 0dbFS to have a louder master, compared to amateur mastering people.
    The answer has to be "Hard no!" and then I want to add "At least not intentionally" 😉

I sincerely hope I'll be easy to undestand.
    About the capacity of an audio file:
    0dbFS is the upper limit of the digital capacity of an audio file. If peaks exceed 0dbFS during the export of a typical audio file, it will result in clipping, which during playback after will be heard as digital distortion.

To visualize that clipping, imagine it as peaks getting clipped (imagine a nail clipper, if you want) of at the top because they exceed the capacity.
    If you picture a waveform, zoom into a waveform, find those round peak up top or down bottom, they will lose there round curve where they exceep 0dbFS and subsequently be flatted tops and flattened bottoms, instead of round. Imagine your thumb nail getting clipped off hard, it's going to look flat after.

If you put "hard digital clipping" into google, you will find pictures. (mind you, some of those picture lead to articles claiming "don't care about clipping", which is not a good thing to say to a broad public, it's misleading!)

real quick: